1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Dymanic range

Discussion in 'General Equipment Chat & Advice' started by Bazarchie, Sep 7, 2017.

1. Bazarchie

Bazarchie Well-Known Member

Reviews and online comments on the new Canon 6D mark ii have in the main slated it for many reasons, mainly the lack of progress on the dymanic range compared with other brands.

I appreciate I am no expert, but when I have visited photography exhibitions I cannot tell if a photo was taken on a Canon or a Nikon or whatever.

Is there really such a difference?

2. EightBitTony

EightBitTony Well-Known Member

No.

And yes.

The more 'extreme' the lighting situation, the more dynamic range can help. For most people in most situations there's no impact.

If you could buy two cameras, and everything was entirely identical including the price except one had a better dynamic range at the base ISO than the other, you'd buy the one with the better dynamic range, so help with in those situations, but as one factor in a long, long list of factors, it's not high up my list.

There are some things the 6D2 has which let it down significantly more than the dynamic range (for example, the area covered by the auto-focus points is very small).

PhotoEcosse likes this.
  3. Benchista

Benchista Which Tyler

I wouldn't. You end up with worse colours and a look like overblown HDR. Excessive dynamic range is a very bad thing in my book.

4. Bazarchie

Interesting view Nick, please expand.

5. PeteRob

PeteRob Well-Known Member

Love the spelling - suits the topic. The stated benefit of higher dynamic range is the ability to bring up the shadows and so produce a lower dynamic range result.

6. Bazarchie

Thanks Pete. Spelling was never my strong point. Out of interest, do you notice any difference in DR with your 5DS/5DSR?

7. PeteRob