1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Drones

Discussion in 'General Equipment Chat & Advice' started by pixelpuffin, Aug 12, 2020.

1. pixelpuffin

pixelpuffin Well-Known Member

Just wondered why drones never seem to be discussed here. Virtually a day never goes by with a tv channel showing drone footage, be it news, holidays, nature...etc
    I love watching it and if I’m completely honest it often makes me think still photography is pretty bland these days....every subject seems to have been done to death.

Anyone else into droning??

2. GeoffR

GeoffR Well-Known Member

Drones are the pipes on a set of bag pipes that aren't used for the tune.

I assume you are talking about UAVs?

3. pixelpuffin

If we are wanting to be pedantic, then yes UAV’s

4. GeoffR

GeoffR Well-Known Member

The CAA tend to be pedantic when it comes to aircraft and as a Licensed Aircraft Engineer I rather tend to go along with them.

5. MJB

MJB Well-Known Member

I think drones tend to be more popular with videographers than still photographers, which would explain the lack of discussion here.

6. pixelpuffin

Lack of discussion or no discussion.
    I used to be into urbex in a big way. The group disbanded and it’s not very safe to go urbexing alone. I’ve seen drone footage which fascinates me. Especially the clever drones that can go through a window, hence the operator can no longer see the drone, yet the drone can be recalled back. Opens up a whole new world for discovery. I heard some drones are actually controlled by your smartphone!!

7. Chester AP

Chester AP Well-Known Member