1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Dirt when looking through the view finder

Discussion in 'General Equipment Chat & Advice' started by T3LF, Apr 17, 2012.

1. T3LF

T3LF Member

Hi everyone,

I just bought a second hand Nikon D7000 and I have noticed when looking through the view finder there is a couple of black marks and dirt bits. If i use live view they cannot be seen (the marks are not present on any pictures taken). Im not sure the best way to remove them (im new to dslr's this is my second one my first one was only July last year + don’t have a clue what i would be touching inside the camera) is it best to take it to a shop and get it cleaned or have a go myself? Plus does anyone have any good ideas to remove cigarette smoke smell from the camera.

Thanks for reading

2. P_Stoddart

P_Stoddart Well-Known Member

Very tricky. It could be dirt on the mirror or the screen the image is projected on. It is possible dirt is somewhere else.

Cleaning either has to be done with great care. Try using a pen torch to look at the surface of the mirror with the lens off. A scratch could also appear as a dirt mark. DON'T touch the mirror as it is very fragile.

PS: As for the smoker smell can't help there. Sorry. :(

3. nimbus

nimbus Well-Known Member

It is most likely on the screen, if it is on the lower side the dust spots may clean with use of a rocket blower, do not physically touch the screen. With regard to the smell of smoke, it is a persistent and pervasive smell. It will however dissipate in time, helped by not leaving the camera in a closed environment. I lent a lens for a few months to a friend who is a smoker, it was quite pungent, but the smell did eventually go.

4. LesleySM

LesleySM Well-Known Member

Is the dirt showing up on images?

5. P_Stoddart

No the OP said that:

"(the marks are not present on any pictures taken)"