1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Best choice for medium format (120) film to film this?

Discussion in 'Everything Film' started by attack_donut, Mar 29, 2012.

1. attack_donut

attack_donut Well-Known Member

http://newtourismguide.blogspot.com/2011/04/antelope-canyon-in-arizona-amerika.html

Heading there in July, would love to take my Yashica 124G with me and shoot. Thing is, I've never done colour film before, all my colour work is digital, all my B/W work is film, but I'm hoping to get some poster-worthy shots, and that means medium format (my digital SLR is a Nikon D1x)

So suggestions? Tips and advice are always appreciated

2. beejaybee

beejaybee Marvin

Transparency or prints?

Either way the choice is pretty limited these days. The sane choices are the products which share a brand name with a famous Japanese volcano. If you really really want high quality don't be tempted by high speed film - unless you really need speed, 100 ISO should be adequate. Personally I far prefer Provia to Velvia because of the oversaturation but it's still on the warm side, an 82B colour correction filter is a Good Idea if working in normal daylight. The print films I have less experience with. Kodak Portra 160 used to be highly regarded but I don't know what the availability is like these days.

3. nimbus

nimbus Well-Known Member

I would say that I would only consider using transparency film for this personally. This does rather reduce the choice to Fuji or Fuji. The remarks in the above post about the films are fair comments, it really depends on how saturated you prefer the results.

4. attack_donut

attack_donut Well-Known Member

The area I'm going to will be of sandstone colours, with swaths of blue sky, so oversaturation isn't required. The local camera shops around my area are *useless* so getting slide film (that's transparency yes?) will be of the eBay or possibly KEH variety.