1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Ap priority

Discussion in 'Panasonic Chat' started by Alan Rushton, Nov 12, 2020.

1. Alan Rushton

Alan Rushton New Member

Hi, I am new to the Lumix TZ100 and keep coming up against the same problems. When I try to take a long distance shot on iA mode, it insists on setting the aperture to wide i.e. around f/2.8 which is a shallow dof and not what I want.
    So then I try to control the aperture with the Ap priority dial and choose a larger f - for narrow dof - that work but then, infuriatingly, I lose the half release shutter function. Grrrrrh!
    Any advice welcome.

2. Catriona

Catriona Well-Known Member

I agree. iA is a pain the way it automatically defaults to the widest aperture. It's OK for the times you make quick shots in an unfamiliar environment, but it is better to control the aperture. Set the camera on A for aperture, and look at your menu settings. You should find the half-release setting to choose off or on.

3. PeteRob

PeteRob Well-Known Member

I don’t know the camera so what follows is based on guesses.

First guess - I suppose iA stands for intelligent Auto? All camera program modes will minimise exposure time when a long lens is used. This is to try to reduce camera shake. Depth of field depends both on the physical aperture and subject distance. If these are long distance shots then F2.8 might not be too bad for depth of field. A small sensor camera has a greater depth of field at a given distance at a given effective focal length than a full frame camera. For a 1” sensor it is about 3 stops worth. So F2.8 at effective 200 mm focal length is roughly the same as using f5.6 with a 200 mm lens on full frame.