1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Any ways to stop shadows?

Discussion in 'General Equipment Chat & Advice' started by Alanah Davies-Brown, Sep 7, 2017.

1. Alanah Davies-Brown

Alanah Davies-Brown New Member

Hello,
    I am currently a photographer for an ecommerce company and wondered if anyone would be able to help with my problem.
    Unfortunately we are only renting the lighting equipment on the day of the shoots so I do not have any time to play around with it and we are getting large shadows on each image which I am then editing out on photoshop afterwards but now I am being told they are taking too long to edit. The lights we are using are a profoto D1(which is usually set to 9.0), a bowens Gemini 500pro (set to 6.0), and a bowens Gemini 500 (set to 6.0). The studio is very very small the current set up we are using is profoto on the front right of the model, bowens 500 pro on the front left of the model (both with softboxes) and the bowens 500 on the left side behind the model in some attempt to back light (this is without any softbox etc. As there is not room. The model themselves is lit well it is just the shadows that are the issue. If anyone has any advice on any other set ups to try I would be extremely greatful!

2. Geren

Geren Well-Known Member

Somewhat difficult to know what to suggest without an image to look at. If you post two...one of the image you get before you edit and one edited one to show what you're trying to achieve only without so much time spent editing, we might be better able to help.

3. RogerMac

RogerMac Well-Known Member

As Garen says it is difficult to help without some more information but at first sight I would suggest some form of reflector. I have a small collapsible one that came attached to a copy of AP some years ago but at a push a white sheet and a helpful assistant can work wonders

4. Roger Hicks

Roger Hicks Well-Known Member