1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

1950s camera questions (6 images)

Discussion in 'Everything Film' started by Atavar, Sep 6, 2010.

1. Atavar

Atavar Well-Known Member

Hello everyone, this is my first time in the traditional capture forum and isn't it just typical I’m begging for help :)

I've become hooked on the Agilux camera marque which ceased production in the '60s. I have a Weston Euro Master and a working Agimatic from '57, and have just put my first roll of film through it (cheap as chips fujicolour c200) :)

[​IMG]

I was delighted to have got any result at all considering the last roll i shot was 11 years ago in a camera with a built in meter, but I do however have a question which i hope the knowledge and experience of this forum can help me with.

I put a colour roll through the camera and ordered negatives only as they were cheapest (i am a student after all) but when i put the negs into my computer with a veho scanner all the images had a cyan cast to them:

[​IMG]

Is it that the lens is designed for mono film only, has its coating coloured with age or have i made a blunder by not ordering prints to compare the results with the veho which i admit is not an ideal solution.

[​IMG]

As you can see converted to B&W the image is fine (minus the metering decisions, composition etc). If it is a case of the lens being unsuitable for colour would it be practical to continue using colour film which is more economical and converting it to mono later? I can make the cyan images more acceptable in post processing but i would rather work out what is wrong and make it perfect from camera without having to mess with manipulation.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

They are ok but they are far from perfect.

Many thanks for reading, i apologise for invading but i'd really like to get to grips with this fantastic piece of kit :)

2. Roger_Provins

Roger_Provins Well-Known Member