1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. REMINDER

Any content, information, or advice found on social media platforms and the wider Internet, including forums such as AP, should NOT be acted upon unless checked against a reliable, authoritative source, and re-checked, particularly where personal health is at stake. Seek professional advice/confirmation before acting on such at all times.

£400 - £600 - Canon 400D, Olympus E 510, or Nikon ??

Discussion in 'General Equipment Chat & Advice' started by alexg, Oct 30, 2007.

1. alexg

alexg Member

Hi all, I'm new to the land of Digital SLR's and I'm looking for a good camera for taking indoor pictures of people and outdoor pictures of mostly still but some moving objects. I'm not looking for top of the range equipment, but a start at around £500 would be good.

I like the look and feel of the Olympus E510, I've heard good things about the Canon EOS 400D, but I also hear that the pro's are using Nikon.

Does anyone have any suggestions for what I should go for based on their own experience or knowledge of Digital SLR's?

Thanks in advance!
    alex

2. beejaybee

beejaybee Marvin

None of these cameras are junk.

Yes, some pros use Nikon. Some pros use Canon. Some pros may even use Olympus....

The camera that is the best for you is the one which you feel most comfortable using. If you know you are comfortable with the Oly 510, that's a sane and sensible choice.

3. Lounge Lizard

Lounge Lizard Well-Known Member

Does David Bailey still use his Olympus Trip? ;)

4. Zou

Zou Well-Known Member

World's best photojournalist (imo) Paolo Pellegrin uses Olys, as well as a 5D when he doesn't have to be discrete.

How you missed the Pentax K10D from the list is beyond me - spec wise and price wise it's a 'must try' camera. Weathersealed, antishake built in, antidust, plus a full range of excellent lenses. It's a great camera.

5. MattSnap