Image sharing website Flickr has undergone a significant revamp, offering all users 1TB of free storage space and display of images at u2018full resolutionu2019.

A terabyte is one trillion bytes.

Features added to the redesigned site include a slide show mode and support for up to three minutes of HD quality video (per movie).

In a blog to launch the new site Flickr claims: ‘No limited pixels, no cramped formats, no memories that fall flat. We’re giving your memories room to breathe and you the space to upload a dizzying number of photos and videos, for free.

‘Just how big is a terabyte? Well, you could take a photo every hour for forty years without filling one.’

Users can upload photos at up to 200MB per photo (1GB video limit).

However, it will cost $49.99 per year (twice the previous cost of Flickr Pro membership) for users who choose not to see adverts, and $499.99 for those wanting 2TB of space.

Changes also see the ending of Flickr Pro for new users to buy, though Flickr says many of the ‘Pro-only’ features are now available for free.

Unlimited storage will be offered to those with an existing Flickr Pro account.

Amateur photographers gave a cautious thumbs-up to the revamp, with initial reaction somewhat mixed from members of the Amateur Photographer website forum.

For more details see the Flickr blog and website

  • Paul Adams

    What the media fail to report is the incredible backlash to these new changes. Presently the official flickr forum logs 10,529 posts in 18 hours – and increasing constantly – since the re-launch from free and pro users in what is virtually one voice of uniform disappointment. So far flickr remains silent on this groundswell. source: http://www.flickr.com/help/forum/en-us/72157633547442506/

  • Graeme Stewart

    It is a disaster. It arrived with no warning, there was no consultation with paying customers, and there are too many features that don’t work.

    If I can’t have the option to revert to the old version, I’ll be leaving Flickr for good.

  • Graeme Stewart

    It is a disaster. No warning, no consultation with paying customers, and too many features that don’t work. If I don’t have the option to revert to the old version, I’ll be leaving.