1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

YAN - yet another newbie

Discussion in 'Introductions...' started by gazdi, Oct 5, 2015.

1. gazdi

gazdi Member

Morning all or whatever time of the day it is when you read it.
    I've been an amateur photographer for some ten years now with one big gap.
    In the technique, I restarted taking photos a couple of years ago with a bridge camera and recently changed to Pentax K20D. I use an old manual lens (Tokina 135/2.8) and am planning to extend this with a fast prime.
    I've always tried to use natural environment as opposed to a studio. Still, it was geometry that appears on most of my (non-tourist) shots.
    After realising this I started my first ever "photo-a-day" project hoping that the constant need of posting something new will push me out of my comfort zone and will make me start shooting people. Now that a third of my project is done I seem to finally start approaching random people on the street an this is good. The quality, however, is questionable.
    This is why I'm here. I think I need exposure and honest critiques and I also need to see the work of others and people's opinion on those. I need to see thousands of photos from the whole quality scale and form opinion about them to shape the way I look through the camera.

In short, I'd like to get from here:
    [​IMG]

to here:
    [​IMG]

and then possibly a bit beyond.

2. AlexMonro

AlexMonro Old Grand Part Deux

Hello, Gazdi, and welcome to the AP forums!

K20D - fine camera, I have one!

Quite a choice of primes from Pentax, not to mention a few from Sigma and Tamron too. Any particular focal length you favour? I'm quite fond of the 40mm f/2.8 Ltd myself, lovely compact little thing, though I believe the 35mm f/2.4 DA AL is good value.

Probably the best way to get critique round here is to post your pictures, one or two at a time, to the Appraisal Gallery.

3. gazdi