1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Wildlife

Discussion in 'Lens Matters' started by Loony, Nov 6, 2017.

1. Loony

Loony Member

Hi,

I'm fairly new to photography, just bought myself a canon 1300d, a 50mm lens and a sigma 17-50mm lens. I've decided I would like to do some wildlife photography as I live in the middle of nowhere and there are plenty of birds of prey and so forth in the area. I've been looking at the canon 300mm and 400mm lenses, but I don't really want to spend 700 quid on a used one, not to put on a 1300d anyway. So I was wondering if there were any suitable "budget" lenses I could look out for?

Yours Sincerely

2. Roger_Provins

Roger_Provins Well-Known Member

Look out for a Sigma 400mm F5.6 APO Tele macro. There are usually some on eBay.

3. Loony

Loony Member

Many thanks for your swift reply. :)

4. nimbus

nimbus Well-Known Member

There may be compatibility problems with these lenses on Canon cameras, a well-known issue with older Sigma lenses and Canon. They are decent optically but may not function on your camera, simply bringing up an error code, so if buying one ensure that it has been tried on a modern body. Sigma used to be able to re-chip them, but probably don't now.

Alternatively consider a Tamron 70-300, the more expensive model with VC (image stabilisation). Good optically and the VC is a boon.

5. PeteRob

PeteRob Well-Known Member

Hi, Good telephoto prime lenses tend to be expensive. The "cheapest" Canon lens is the 400 F5.6 L (which is how I started). A 300 is a bit too short for birds though you can put a teleconverter on a 300 F4 and gain stabilisation. Sigma and Tamron also offer telephoto zooms. There are a few variants on the market so be careful to check.

6. Fishboy

Fishboy Well-Known Member