1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Which Nikon?

Discussion in 'Nikon Chat' started by ipri, Oct 29, 2017.

1. ipri

ipri New Member

Hi...I have had my current camera for some years now. It's a Sony NEX3. I'm pleased with my progress from complete novice to quite comfortable in Manual .I have had a look in John Lewis at 3 Nikons. from £500ish to £700 ish . ( D5300 / D3400 / D5600 ). I presume these are all similar in lens and general features. I'm not too fussed over stuff like wifi and the rest which I suppose bumps the cost up.

Will the kit lens on these compare well to my current sony 18-55mm in terms of quality? How do the more expensive Sony cameras compare to the Nikons?

Any advice appreciated . Ian

Done_rundleCams likes this.
  2. Roger Hicks

Roger Hicks Well-Known Member

Which Nikon?

SP.

(Sorry, couldn't resist, even though the F is a better camera).

Cheers,

R.

3. Learning

Learning Ethelred the Ill-Named

I suggest that you do not rush into a decision. You could spend a lot of money on changing systems for little benefit.
    First of all the kit lenses may well be similar and not be an upgrade.
    DSLRs have probably almost reached their apogee. Mirrorless may be the future preferred cameras.
    I have quite an investment in Nikon DSLRs and lenses and I do not intend to go mirrorless in the short term, however if I was already using mirrorless then I would be looking at more modern upmarket mirrorless. Its not quite the thing to write in this Nikon room but I have to say that if I was in your position I would be saving more money and then buying something very very expensive from Sony.

4. Learning

What about that horrible focussing wheel? I would prefer a Leica M3. (with new light seals of course)

5. nimbus

nimbus Well-Known Member

What does the Sony not do that you would like to be able to do?

6. GeoffR

GeoffR Well-Known Member