1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

When to declare online sales to HMRC?

Discussion in 'Help Team' started by Lisa-Marie Townsend, Aug 8, 2017.

1. Hello all,

This is my first time posting and I'm not exactly sure if I'm in the correct place; please accept my apologies if not.

Almost two years ago, I began posting my photos on a stock photography website called Dreamstime.com. At $0.35 a download, I have only actually made $7.00 and cannot claim the money until I have at least $100.00 in my account.

I would like to expand my horizons by selling elsewhere as well (Shutterstock, Alamy, Redbubble etc.) but my question is when do I declare this to HMRC? In fact, how do I even declare this to HMRC?

I have not actually made any money so far and I'm miles away from calling myself a professional. I take photos in my spare time on my travels and, if I think they're any good, I put them on my Dreamstime/Facebook etc. page.

Does anyone have any advice? I have been told by some not to worry until I am making a considerable amount and I would genuinely love to sell through other mediums, but I don't want to get myself into any trouble.

Thank you in advance.

2. Craig20264

Craig20264 Well-Known Member

Do you make money from other employment? Are you already paying tax? Until we know this, we can't advise.

3. Craig20264

Craig20264 Well-Known Member

You basically owe tax on any income over the tax thresholds, so if you're currently not earning, you have a way to go yet. Contact HMRC is your best bet. Ask them. I have always found them helpful.

4. Hi Craig,

Thanks for your reply. I work in an office and pay tax for the money I earn there.

Thanks, I will try and get in touch with them.

5. EightBitTony

EightBitTony Well-Known Member