1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What to upgrade?

Discussion in 'Help Team' started by danhegehog, Jun 30, 2017.

1. danhegehog

danhegehog New Member

Hi, I am a student who has saved up £500 and wants to upgrade gear.
    I am currently using a
    D3200
    18-55 VR kit lens (great lens)
    55-300 VR
    50mm f1.8

I have a good understanding of how to use the camera and get the most out of the lenses so I'm stuck about whether or not I should get either the D7100 or D5400 (both under £500 or upgrade my glass and what I should upgrade to.
    Thanks

2. PeteRob

PeteRob Well-Known Member

Hi Dan, I hate that word "upgrade". If you are going to spend hard-saved cash then look at what you need to do that you find hard or not possible to do with your current kit so you that you get some real benefit. If there is nothing substantial then keep saving - better to aim to have 5k in the bank as a camera fund than spend down every time you hit 500.

Roger Hicks likes this.
  3. Benchista

Benchista Which Tyler

Yup. If you don't know what to upgrade, you don't need to upgrade anything.
    Want, mind, is another thing. ;)

Roger Hicks likes this.
  4. PeteRob

Indeed. Iwantitis is a dreadful affliction

5. EightBitTony

EightBitTony Well-Known Member

When you're out taking photographs, what causes you the most frustration? What is it you're not able to achieve?

Roger Hicks likes this.
  6. nimbus

nimbus Well-Known Member

The problem with an upgrade here is that either body you mention will not actually in itself deliver any obvious lift in your results in any discernible way. So I ask you, what is the issue with your current kit? The D7100 does allow quicker adjustment of settings as it has two control dials, but in IQ terms you would be spending money to little avail otherwise, the output of all three is pretty similar.

Roger Hicks likes this.
  7. Craig20264