1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What to expect from 'L' range

Discussion in 'Canon Conflab' started by CanonGary, May 27, 2017.

1. CanonGary

CanonGary Member

I have a 7d mk II which I love...but I can't help but think I should be looking to pair it up with some 'L' lenses to get the best out of it.

I've very little experience with 'L' lenses so would appreciate some advice on what sort of quality I should expect over cheaper lenses.

If I was to get a better version of the following lenses (my current setup) what could I expect? :
    Canon 50mm f/1.8
    Canon 70-300mm f/4.0-5.6 IS
    Sigma 170-500mm f/5.0-6.3

What I'm trying to find out is the impact upgrading to the 'L' range has made on peoples photography.

Cheers - G

2. Andrew Flannigan

Andrew Flannigan Well-Known Member

I have the 70-200/2.8 and the 24 TSE and they are good lenses but for my needs not that much better than the far cheaper lenses that I use alongside them. They're also very heavy. I bought both second hand so perhaps they were discombobulated before I got them. If I knew then what I know now I wouldn't have bought the 70-200 but there really isn't much that could replace the 24 TSE.

3. CanonGary

CanonGary Member

This really isn't the answer I was looking for! You're supposed to say something along the lines of 'since purchasing an 'L' lens the quality is amazing and I keep 80% more of my images' then I can justify to my wife why it's worth the money!

I can't lie though, the quality I get off the lenses I have is just amazing as long as the conditions are right. But then I figure surely it's the same of the 'L' lenses. But with little experience I don't know. Maybe they really are that much better in some ways?

Andrews reply makes me want to just stick with the cheap lenses but then surely if there was that little benefit no one would bother with them, no?

4. Craig20264

Craig20264 Well-Known Member