1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Wedding Advice

Discussion in 'Help Team' started by Twitol, Jan 9, 2019.

1. Twitol

Twitol New Member

Good Morning all

Im new to this forum so hello everyone and I hope this is in the right section. I was after some advice and this seemed the best place to come I imagine there is alot of experience and knowledge in these forums.

I've been partaking in amateur photography for about 4 years now only on a hobby level I have been wanting to get more into the professional side for a while but its hard fitting it in with work commitments. I've been asked to be a photographer at a wedding and while this partly fills me with fear I am also seeing it as a great opportunity. It is for a family member who has a really small budget and has briefed me along as there are pics of the family she would be happy, however I would still like to try and capture some great photos for her. The ones I see on wedding photography pages and am in awe off.

The question is I currently have a Nikon d3400 with the standard kit 18/55mm lens and also a tamron 70-300mm lens. What would be the best lens to add to my collection with this type of work in mind? If there are any wedding photographers present what kit is always in your bag when shooting weddings? Also I love reading so if anyone has any suggestions of books or videos that may help me. Im going to go ahead and scout the venues and pre plan as much as possible. The wedding is in may so lots of time. Any and all advice is welcome. :)

2. dangie

dangie Senior Knobhead

Far more knowledgeable members will no doubt be along to help with your question, but for me the first things I would make sure I'd got for such an important day are: spare batteries, spare memory cards, and beg borrow or steal a 2nd Nikon camera body.