1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Weather App for Photographers

Discussion in 'Help Team' started by blrk, Jan 16, 2017.

1. blrk

blrk Member

Hello,

I am a university student who has to build a weather app aimed at photographers.

Since I am still in the research phase, I was wondering if anyone here could help me a bit, i.e. tell me what are the things (related to weather) that they consider the most important when taking pictures? How does weather affect your photos/the way things go?
    What would you like to see in a weather app made specifically for you?

Thank you!

2. Andrew Flannigan

Andrew Flannigan Well-Known Member

That's a project to keep you busy! Most photographers will check the Met Office or BBC sites for basic planning in the UK, so I'd concentrate on very local real time info about cloud cover and temperature. The added value might be to link to the compass and provide light angle info on both horizontal and vertical axes. If you could connect that to predicted cloud cover, you'd have something quite useful.If you could add international coverage and maps, you'd be cooking on gas!

3. Fishboy

Fishboy Well-Known Member

That sounds interesting - for the sake of convenience I'd be tempted to add location-specific sunrise and sunset times and perhaps low and high tide times for coastal locations.

Cheers, Jeff

4. PeteRob

PeteRob Well-Known Member