1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

the lure of the Leica

Discussion in 'Leica Camera Chat' started by John Tarrant, Dec 29, 2017.

1. John Tarrant

John Tarrant Member

When I was a fledgling professional photographer I worked for a couple of seasons at a well known holiday camp as a photographer. The standard issue camera was a Leica M1 with a 35mm lens. During that time I learned a lot! Not least being that the camera had to be used without thinking about the mechanics. Composition, speed and salesmanship were paramount!
    I quickly became accustomed to the camera and found it straightforward and perfect for the job n hand. These were the 1960s however and budding photographers were dazzled by the Nikon and Hasselblad. Years flashed by and I found myself using all sorts of photo kit until in the last few years finding things exclusively digital.Recently a Leica M1 came my way: I grabbed it attached a 35mm lens and the magic of photography returned! So powerful was the magic that a new developing tank was acquired and the joy of peeling nice looking negatives from the spiral was rediscovered!

The Leica is such a simple instrument that my mind is taken up solely with examining my surroundings for images and suddenly realising their possibility through that bright seductive viewfinder. I fear that I might turn into a Leitz nerd, the camera just feels so good in use that I am tempted to acquire a more modern model, perhaps an `m2 or M4, then of course, I can feel my feet on the slippery slope as I contemplate the lenses available. I fear that I am lost!

steveandthedogs likes this.
  2. Roger Hicks

Roger Hicks Well-Known Member

Dear John,

Ah... Leicaphilia. The link explains why I've used 'em for rather over 45 years. The 1959 M1 is however a LESS modern model than the M3 (the original), and is contemporaneous with the rangefinder-equipped M2.