1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sunsets in Essex

Discussion in 'Photographic Locations' started by gerfy, Jul 17, 2011.

1. gerfy

gerfy New Member

Hi,

I'm VERY new to the world of photography and this is my first post here - so please be gentle!

I did a course at college last year as I've always fancied getting into photography. Anyway, I loved the course, but since it ended I've let things slide and rarely find time to get out and shoot. But I'm off work in the next couple of weeks, and I fancy taking a few sunset shots either in my area or not a million miles away.

Anyone know anywhere decent in Essex for shooting sunsets? I've been out half a dozen times now in my quest, but either the sun set exactly where I did it want to, or visibility was awful.

Thanks!

Gerfy

2. gray1720

gray1720 Well-Known Member

I'd suggest that you want to be somewhere along the Thames coast, with the oil refineries and the like to your West, because the more sh... rubbish in the air, the more intense the colours will be - the North Kent Coast is good for that sort of thing, because of all the heavy industry on the Isle of Grain.