1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sony H400 HELP!

Discussion in 'Sony Chat' started by Lauren Eastham, Dec 21, 2016.

1. Hi there!

I am completely new to the world of cameras and it's my first "half decent" camera that I have bought.

I am struggling with taking pictures without the flash. My photos just appear really blurry and not at all crisp as I thought they would be. I bought the camera thinking that if I'm paying over £200 then the picture quality is going to be really good (maybe a little naive). I feel that the picture quality is just like a £40 basic digital camera I used to own.

So what I'm asking is, do I need to use the flash all the time for my pictures to be of a good quality, even in daylight? Or am I not using the camera properly.

ISO, aperture, shutter speed etc are all still really alien to me so I'm still trying to understand them.

With a 3 week holiday to the Philippines in 5 days I'm hoping that someone will be able to help me, so that I won't have awful pictures to look back on!

Thanks in advance!

2. lisadb

lisadb Well-Known Member

Hi, you're not using the camera properly. We'll need the info on what settings you are using before we can help ie what mode do you have the camera on ? Auto, manual, scene ? Also an example of one of your photos with the aperture, shutter speed and ISO would be helpful. :)

3. I have pretty much tried every mode and played with changing the aperture, ISO and shutter speed. I will take some photos and upload them later, so you can have a nosey

4. PeteRob

PeteRob Well-Known Member

There are two (three) reasons for blurry photos. Camera shake and poor focus (the subject moved).