1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Saving edited RAW CR2 files from Canon650D on Mac

Discussion in 'Digital Image Editing & Printing' started by Jan08, Aug 18, 2017.

1. Jan08

Jan08 Member

Hi.
    I'm new to shooting in RAW. Ive always played safe and shot in jpg, but wanted to have more versatility . I haven't bought photoshop yet - almost bought Elements a few years ago, but have managed with the software that came with the camera.
    So I am using DPP . The other day I shot a lot of seascapes and some of the horizons needed adjusting, which I thought I had successfully done. When it came to saving the edited image, or converting to jpg to tiff, it saved it as a thin band down the middle of the picture. The thumbnail on the side looked ok, but I couldn't then use the image.
    As I said - I'm new to this and obviously missing something . Fortunately I shot in jpeg as well as RAW and could use some of the photos without the askew horizons . I have tried to follow the instructions that come with DPP.

Any advice for this newby?

2. El_Sid

El_Sid Well-Known Member

Curious...:confused:

I have adjusted the horizon in DPP. In my version (an old version of DPP3) you open the crop tool and the horizon adjustment is slider in the middle of the side panel. Adjustment is best made by either sliding the marker or entering a number directly in the box - IIRC using the mouse wheel with the box active also adjusts the angle. With my copy the image does automatically crop to fit as the image rotates (this may be an option, I can't remember and DPP is at home while I'm currently not). I'm wondering if somehow you have added an extreme crop to the image.