1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Samsung GX10 DSLR

Discussion in 'Other Brands & Accessories' started by Bryan Waters, Sep 16, 2018.

1. Bryan Waters

Bryan Waters Member

Hi all I am new to photography and a bit stuck with my camera. I bought it second hand as a starter entry, and did not get any info with it. I downloaded the manual, but it's like a different language to me (my grey hair wont take much in nowadays). All I basically want to do is take some good photos but with all the settings I am at a loss. I can't seem to find much help reqarding this camera. Any info would be great. Thank you for taken your time in ready this.

2. SXH

SXH Well-Known Member

The GX10 is a rebadged Pentax K10D, so lenses should be easy to get hold of.

There's a review here which will give you the gen, plus an idea of how good it is.

3. Bryan Waters

Bryan Waters Member

Thank you for reply I will look at the review :)

4. PeteRob

PeteRob Well-Known Member

There are two different things. How a specific camera can be configured, which can be hugely complicated, and how you take photographs. I always use a digital camera like a film camera. It might take some reads of the user manual to set it up, most of what 'can' be done is best left at default settings. Look for a s/h copy of any learner book on 35 mm photography from the '60s to '80s to get the basics.

5. Chester AP

Chester AP Well-Known Member

My first DSLR was a Pentax K10, which is virtually identical to your Samsung GX10.
    I only replaced it when I had a chance to get a later model (Pentax K5) at a good price.

I recall it had a 'P' (Program) setting which is the 'point and shoot' setting that only requires you to make sure the autofocus has caught the subject you want to shoot before you press the shutter. (I am assuming you have it with the 18-55 kit lens and are using it in daylight).