1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Places to take photos indoors

Discussion in 'Photographic Locations' started by Legojon, Aug 9, 2019.

1. Legojon

Legojon Member

So I'm new to photography and have to admit, I don't like getting wet. When it's tipping it down outside, I don't feel like trapsing up muddy hillsides, etc. But I also have assignments to do for uni and want to keep practising. So I thought today, what places can I go to, not get wet and still get interesting photos? Not spefically in any part of the UK, just types of places. Eg museums. I'm about to research which allow photos and see if there are any interesting local ones.

2. Catriona

Catriona Well-Known Member

It can be very tricky taking photos in public indoor spaces. Most get upset and it is always wise to ask first or face some beefy person in your face asking what you are doing.
    Rainy streets and street scenes and people can be terrific to take photos. If you really can't stand getting wet, stand in a doorway or under cover. Crouch down to get a different view of the scene, or if you can, get up at a higher level and look down on things. There's no bad time to take photos - unless it's in full mid-day sunshine!! So get out there. A big roomy jacket is good so you can hide your camera underneath but ready to pull out and take a shot. Good luck!

Legojon likes this.
  3. EightBitTony

EightBitTony Well-Known Member

Most train stations are fine with you taking photographs, as long as you avoid tripods. The smaller stations are usually unmanned anyway, and the larger stations see plenty of people with cameras. Just be prepared to explain yourself calmly and quietly if someone approaches you. You could always, at a train station, announce yourself to someone who looks like they might be in charge.