1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Personal Photo Books

Discussion in 'Web Sites of Interest' started by Gordon_McGeachie, Feb 4, 2007.

1. Gordon_McGeachie

Gordon_McGeachie In the Stop Bath

2. Lounge Lizard

Lounge Lizard Well-Known Member

I've been using MyPublisher for about 4 years now and have been happy with the results. However, I would be interested in anybody has done a side-by-side comparison and is in a position to recommend one over another.

3. bagpuss

bagpuss Well-Known Member

Thanks for that - checking them out now.

4. Rhys

Rhys Sasquatch

The MyPublisher site looks pretty good, just had a look at system requirements and you need Windows... I usually use my desktop now which is running Linux.

Looks like I'll have to dig out my old Windows machine to have a look at at the software.

David, what sort of results/quality do you get from using this company?

I'm taking a lot of pics of our new arrival and think it would be a good idea to do a series of books as she grows up instead of just keeping snaps on prints and discs. Much nicer to have a book to show family etc. instead of booting the computer up to show a slide show.

5. Lounge Lizard

The quality is excellent, both the actual printing (OK, it's not quite photo quality but good enough for many people) and the binding of the books.

Here is my brief evaluation:

Good Points
    • Quality digital printing on decent paper
    • Well-finished albums
    • Software is clean, logical and easy to use
    • Full-bleed pages as an option (i.e. right to the edge of the paper)
    • Good choice of album types
    • Can mix text with images
    Bad Points
    • Long delivery times unless you pay extra for FedEx 2 day service*
    • Can be pricey for large albums, leather finish or lots of pages
    • Not as flexible as some others with choice of page layouts
    • Limited range of credit cards accepted