1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Out focus scenery help needed

Discussion in 'Help Team' started by Motorhomer, Apr 17, 2017.

1. Motorhomer

Motorhomer Member

I took some photos whilst in Ireland and found that the background image is all out of focus. When zooming in on the trees they all look like green blobs. I don’t understand what i did wrong. I am a beginner in this hobby so I expect this might be a simple mistake. I have attached two images one post production in Lightroom and the other pre production. The image was taken using a Canon EOS 600D with a Tamron 16-300mm lens, setting where Focal length 32mm ISO 200 F/13 shutter speed 1/250. I was trying to focus half way then bring the camera and take the shot in an attempt to get the hyperfocal distance correct. But i expect this might be the problem. Also I maybe the aperture was set to low.

Any tips please so next time I get a better picture in focus

Attached Files:

2. Geren

Geren Well-Known Member

Hi! NOt sure what you mean by 'and then bring the camera'? Were you using a tripod? My best guess looking at these is that the focus was simply on the wrong point. Look at the branches that are encroaching around the front lower edge of the frame. They are sharper than anything else in the shot. That would seem to suggest that you have focused too close.

3. PeteRob

PeteRob Well-Known Member