1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

OD EM10 vs EM10 mark 2

Discussion in 'Olympus Chat' started by Andyf, Mar 4, 2017.

1. Andyf

Andyf Member

Hi Guys,

I made a post ont he general equipment forum about getting a new camera for traveling and i've decided that these models would probably be best as there's lots of decent second hand deals (i'm on a tight budget).

Anyway i'm new to photography and i'm looking for some advice on whethe ri should go for a preowened em10 mark 1 with 14-42mm kit lens for around £280 or whether the em10 mark 2 with the same lens would be better for around £400

i know that the main difference is the IS on the mark 2 is theoretically much better but i;m not sure how much of a difference an armature would see? i will be shooting video with the camera though so it might show a difference there?

Any help is appreciated!

2. 0lybacker

0lybacker In the Stop Bath

Depends how the salesman spins it. (Sorry! Just couldn't resist. Not an attack on your personal spelling/typo.)

Seriously, for video, not a lot unless the record/playback format is different. What do you anticipate doing with your pics & video? If most are going on the interwebby, with a still or two printed out to A4-A3 for framing on the wall after you get home, then either camera model will do. Hope it will not happen but worst case scenario - you get robbed during the year. Which would hurt the most? Losing a s/h camera or the new one which might be a friend for life?

3. Andyf

Andyf Member

haha very good :p

probably just keeping them online like you say - printing a few in a4-a3. the price difference between them second hand is around 125 pounds - is the mark two worth that extra? i read it also has better C-AF.