1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

NOOB

Discussion in 'Introductions...' started by Efstopdummy, Jul 26, 2012.

1. Efstopdummy

Efstopdummy Member

Hey all. Complete Newbe to photgraphy in general and to this forum.

As my login suggests, I am a dummy with anything resembling a camera in my hands.

Don't own one yet unless you count my cell phone camera.

Have used my brother Pentax Optio with some mixed results. So here I am, all willing to learn new junk.

2. AlexMonro

AlexMonro Old Grand Part Deux

Hello, and welcome to the forum.

Feel free to ask questions, and read the posts you find interesting. Have a look at the appraisal gallery, and maybe post some of your pictures.

Most of us don't bite very hard! :)

3. Efstopdummy

Efstopdummy Member

ROFL. I just love a keen SOH. Seems like I might fit in here.

AM, you'd have to have (very) long teeth to bite me. I'm a long way away from you all the way down south in Africa. :cool:

Lets see if this one works. (One of the pictures I have taken that gives me the most pleasure.

[​IMG]

4. P_Stoddart

P_Stoddart Well-Known Member

Welcome :)

That shot is quite good.

There is the Help Team if you want advice or support on say a new/secondhand cameras.

5. Efstopdummy

Efstopdummy Member

Takes a bow to a fan club of one.

Thanks for the comment. I took some fairly decent shots that trip and some not so good ones.

The problem with photographing wildlife in somewhere like the Kruger National Park is that it's a big place. So sometimes animals are far away and Im looking for some advice on what sort of lens I would need.

The camera that I shot that with was a 7.2 mp Pentax Optio.

I want to change to a DSLR type camera and thinking that a 500 mm lens would be ideal in most cases.