1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Nikon D3300 & Sigma 17-50mm F2.8 EX DS OS HSM images not sharp

Discussion in 'Nikon Chat' started by giddyypixie, Apr 15, 2018.

1. giddyypixie

giddyypixie New Member

Good morning everybody

First time posting (hopefully I have posted this in the right place!). I recently bought a second-hand Sigma 17-50mm F3.8 EX DS OS HSM for my Nikon D3300 to upgrade from the kit lens (PS> I am an amateur!).

I used it for the first time yesterday and I must admit that I was a little disappointed with the images once I got home and put them on the PC (they looked pretty good on the screen but I know that can be deceptive!). I was shooting using the viewfinder, not live view btw. Also, shooting in aperture priority, still a bit nervous of going full manual!

I recently upgraded my Nikon onto the V1.1 firmware.

I did some searching around the forums and I couldn't find a definitive answer that would help me so I wanted to upload some pictures from yesterday as well as some test ones that I have just taken - http://www.amateurphotographer.co.u...50mm-f2-8-ex-ds-os-hsm-images-not-sharp.1995/

Is it me rather than the lens (quite possible)? Or am I expecting too much? In someone's more professional opinion, are these normal and what I should be expecting?

Is it a problem with the lens maybe? Any further tests I can do to find out? Any help/advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you in advance.

2. Andrew Flannigan

Andrew Flannigan Well-Known Member