1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New to Sony DSCH400 - Need some advice please.

Discussion in 'Sony Chat' started by unknownpleasures, Sep 23, 2016.

1. I purchased the above Sony camera yesterday and would like some advice regarding getting the best out of the camera and have some questions regarding the camera.

Firstly, is there a good setting or things I should change to get the best out of the camera. I am new to bridge cameras, so it seems a bit of a minefield at the moment. I would like to take pictures of landscapes, streets, portraits etc.

I have noticed that when I put the zoom out I get a shaky hand signal all the time, even if it is not out that far - is this normal?

Also, when I go to take a photo, the display screen seems to be very grainy and doesn't look very sharp at all. Am I doing something wrong, or is the resolution of the screen?

I am starting to wonder if I should have bought a different camera or an I being impatient before really getting to grips with this one?

Thanks in advance for any tips, guidance etc.

2. Andrew Flannigan

Andrew Flannigan Well-Known Member

3. El_Sid

El_Sid Well-Known Member

The shaky hand either means the stabiliser is on or needs to be turned on. It might say in that pile of garbage Sony amusingly call a help guide but it may take some time to find...

Do you mean the rear screen or the view finder? The viewfinder probably is quite low resolution. The rear screen is better resolution but when taking pictures may look slightly less good than it is due to refresh rates. Are the pictures themselves OK?

4. I think I may need to work out how to turn the stabilizer on or off - Do you know by any chance?

The pictures are OK, some good, some not so good, I think this may be a matter of messing around with the settings for the right picture. I will try the various scene modes to see what happens when out and about.

Thanks mate.

5. El_Sid