1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Macro lens For Nikon D3100... Help!!

Discussion in 'Nikon Chat' started by kilso2000, Mar 18, 2017.

1. kilso2000

kilso2000 New Member

Hi there, I am new to this forum and looking for some info about purchasing a macro lens for work. I work as a dentist and am looking for a lens to take close up shots of people's teeth. Not that exciting but someone's got to do it.

I have been looking online for a macro lens and have read lots of different reviews regarding different lenses. I have an entry level Nikon D3100 with 18-55 VR lens and Nikkor 55-200 VR lens.

The lenses I have been looking at are:
    Sigma 105mm f/2.8 EX DG OS HSM Macro
    Nikon AF-S DX Micro NIKKOR 85mm f/3.5G ED VR Lens
    Tamron SP 90mm f/2.8 Di VC USD macro
    Tokina AT-X M100 Pro D AF 100mm f/2.8 Lens

I have read that some lenses will not autofocus with the D3100 body as there is no in built motor so am looking for a lens with an in built motor (I think). My budget is up to £300 but would rather it was closer to £200 as need to purchase a ring flash as well.

Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated and open to any other suggestions of appropriate available lenses.

Thanks

2. nimbus

nimbus Well-Known Member

The first three all certainly have built-in focus motors, but I am unsure about the Tokina. All four will be good performers, the Tamron macro lenses being renowned as excellent value giving high image quality. To cut the cost buy second hand from a reputable dealer, but make sure that you are buying a lens with a focus motor. When buying ring flash be aware that some of them are not flash at all but a circle of LEDs.

3. Learning

Learning Ethelred the Ill-Named

From the order in which you state the altenatives I guess that you prefer the 105 focal length. I would suggest the current 105mm Nikkor f2.8 macro.I own one and I am very satisfied.