1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Locations in Hampshire/Wiltshire

Discussion in 'Photographic Locations' started by totty102, Sep 23, 2006.

1. totty102

totty102 New Member

Hi
    Im new to photography having only started a part time course last week! I have a little compact which does the job so far but looking for places that would give me some good photos.
    I live in Basingstoke...can anyone recommend places in Hampshire/Wiltshire

2. Lounge Lizard

Lounge Lizard Well-Known Member

It's not really a case of going somewhere, standing on a particlar spot and pressing a button to get good photos. It's knowledge of photography and how to use the equipment you've got that gives you that.

I can understand you wondering what to photograph if you've never set foot outside of Basingstoke but there is so much in Hampshire and Wiltshire that you shouldn't have to ask - just get yourself out there and look. That's what photography is all about. I don't remember Cartier-Bresson asking what to photograph....

3. chris000

chris000 Well-Known Member

Hi, and welcome to the forums.

Don't overlook the centre of Basingstoke itself for some interesting urban landscapes and maybe a bit of 'street photography'. But there's plenty of good rural stuff in Hants too - Test, Itchen and Meon Valleys, the downs around Kingsclere and Historic towns like Winchester.

There is loads to choose from - good luck!

4. geoid

geoid Well-Known Member

Hamble river is pretty, and the new forest too.

I think do as David suggests, and get clicking away and see what happens! You'll develop your own style and taste for photography that way.

5. HippoPete

HippoPete Member

Hi

I just dropped in to ask a question of my own but seeing this and being a Hampshire resident, I thought I might offer a few suggestions to help kick start your thought processes.

Watercress Line near Aylesford / Alton for Steam Trains