1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Image stabilisation

Discussion in 'Help Team' started by Turnbacktime, Apr 26, 2017.

1. Turnbacktime

Turnbacktime Member

i am a keen amateur photographer and have a Canon 500D with about 4 lenses, a mixture of EF and one EF-S. The 500 has become flaky and I was about to replace it and like the 80D but it doesn't address one issue.
    Since a mild Stroke a few years ago I can suffer from a noticeable hand tremor which can affect the photos I take, so image stabilisation is increasingly of interest.
    Only one of my Canon lenses has IS, so to move forward with an IS solution with the 80D I could be looking at 3-4 lenses over time. Which sort of blows the automatic decision to go Canon out of the water, at least the automatic part.
    I was wondering if the sensor based IS solution on the mirror less cameras like Olympus OM, Sony Alpha7 etc was going to be a better way forward.
    Have looked at both in shops and liked them, but that doesn't give me real experience.
    Can anyone share experience of the move from DSLR to either of these models, or any other. It is only ones with sensor based IS that I am interested in, there is no real driver for me to swap other than this.

2. Benchista

Benchista Which Tyler

Well that would still require you to buy new lenses, unless you use an adapter on the Sony, but that's not ideal for EF-S lenses. Another option would be Canon's new mirrorless EOS M6, which would work fine with your existing lenses and an adapter, and does have sensor-based IS built in.

Gezza likes this.
  3. Turnbacktime

Turnbacktime Member