1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hi all newbie here with pentax me super question

Discussion in 'Introductions...' started by Pennywise, Dec 20, 2013.

1. Pennywise

Pennywise Member

Hi ive bought an old pentax me super 35mm and i wanted to try some astro photography. I set the camera up in my garden on a tripod with a shutter cable release. I used 200 film and set it to 200 on the dial. 60mm lens focused to just under infinity and pointed it at orion constellation. On bulb i did various exposures from 10 secs to 1 min. When the photos where developed all i got where pale to grey photos nothing came out. What did i do wrong? I would be gratefull for any advice thanks all. Matt

2. Wheelu

Wheelu Well-Known Member

Have you tried the camera with conventional subjects? Maybe there is a problem with the shutter. The ME Super, a lovely camera and indeed for sentimental reasons my personal favourite, does suffer from problems with what were, quite early electronics.

I'm not into photographing the night sky but would have thought that a 60 mm lens would not be sufficiently powerful to show much anything meaningful. Do you mean a 600 mm lens?

Finally, why did you focus before infinity? The night sky is about as near to infinity as I would expect to get.

3. 0lybacker

0lybacker In the Stop Bath

Think you might need to try ten minutes up to to ten hours for exposure, not 10secs to 1 min. I assume you are after star trails. Also suggest stars are most likely to be at infinity or beyond. ;) Also suggest you get hold of & read book on astro-photography for beginners.

4. Pennywise

Pennywise Member