1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hi all,a real newbie here

Discussion in 'Introductions...' started by tjwest, Apr 19, 2011.

1. tjwest

tjwest New Member

I am so new I have just bought my first 'real camera', and that doesn't arrive until Thursday. So I am spending next couple of days trying to learn some real basics from you experts. and look forward to becoming an active member of the forum

2. Atavar

Atavar Well-Known Member

Welcome to the forum, great to see you here. Any questions at all don't hesitate to ask, the only daft question is one that goes unasked. :)

3. Chris Cool

Chris Cool Retired

Hi and welcome to the forums :D

What sort of camera have you ordered?

Cheers

4. MrBlueSky

MrBlueSky Well-Known Member

Hi, good to have you on board - there are some basic tutorials in the Beginner's Corner forum to get you started and don't hesitate to ask questions 24/7 :D

5. tjwest

tjwest New Member

What sort of camera have you ordered?

Cheers

thanks for the welcome

I have ordered a Nikon D3100 as it seems to be a decent entry choice for beginners (i hope!), and a decent price with the wifes tesco discount & £40 cashback from Nikkon, allin body & lens kit came to £386,

is this camera ok to start with?

6. Chris Cool

Chris Cool Retired

Any camera is good to start with and your one has a Guide mode :)

If your completely new to a DSLR, have a look at this simple tutorial told in picture form - although it's by Canon, it applies to all types of digital cameras. Well worth a look :)

Click me...

Read all about how good your choice was...

...you're OK, it scored 9/10 :cool:

7. tjwest

tjwest New Member

thanks for the info

trouble is i can't blame the camera now!!!

8. lisadb

lisadb Well-Known Member

Hi TJ,

welcome aboard ! :eek:

9. P_Stoddart

P_Stoddart Well-Known Member

Welcome on here :)

Yeah, you can do photography with pretty much any camera.