1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help for absolute amateur to shoot stills

Discussion in 'Help Team' started by craptaxidermy, Feb 26, 2017.

1. craptaxidermy

craptaxidermy New Member

Hi everyone,

I need A LOT of help to start taking photos!! I'm a handbag designer with zero photography skill. I've read up on the basics: ISO, shutter speed, aperture and so on, and while I understand the general theory, every time I try and put it into practice my photos look AWFUL.
    I've uploaded a few images of what I'm trying to achieve- I'm using some really dark backdrops and experimenting with low lighting. While I've found loads of tips online of how to position and set up the lights (Ive yet to buy my much-needed accessories such as studio lights and diffusers etc, I realise this may be a big part of the problem) I haven't been able to get the right settings on my camera, and everything I shoot looks really really naff.

I'm about to launch my first ever collection and really good quality photography will be the difference between great sales and crashing and burning so I need to up my game!!

I'd really appreciate any guidance on how to do this kind of thing and any recommendations on what equipment might help! I'm using a Nikon D3300.

Massive thanks in advance.

Attached Files:

2. Geren

Geren Well-Known Member

Hello! Can you show us some examples of what you have done? That might make it easier to determine what advice would be most helpful to you!

3. PeteRob

PeteRob Well-Known Member

The highlights on the shoes are burned out in the example but otherwise these look very good. Where do you see the problem?

4. Geren

Geren Well-Known Member

I may be wrong but I think these are not the OP's images...these are what s/he's aspiring to. That's why I suggested that it would be helpful to see the images they're not happy with as a starting point.

5. PeteRob