1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hello there!

Discussion in 'Introductions...' started by Ackertastic, Jun 7, 2017.

1. Ackertastic

Ackertastic Member

I'm pretty new to photography but bought a Fujifilm FinePix S8200 Digital Camera a while back and have been taking decent pics and enjoying it.

The thing is I take a lot of photo's of my lads footy team but find that action shots are not the best.

Can anyone recommend a camera that would be good for sports action and wildlife photography? like I said I'm a complete novice, not sure what an "SLR" or a "DSLR" is or do I need a specific lens for stuff like that?

Any advice welcomed!

2. EightBitTony

EightBitTony Well-Known Member

I can probably guess, but what is it about the action shots you don't like at present, can you share some so we can see the issues?

3. Ackertastic

Ackertastic Member

Hi Tony, at work currently so don't have any with me but they tend to be a bit blurred (especially the football) and not as crisp as i'd like, don't get me wrong I have been quite impressed with some of the shots i've taken but it seems to be a bit random, it could be that as a beginner I don't really know what I'm doing!, I set the camera to "Auto" and click away, it doesn't help that I bought the camera secondhand without a manual!

4. EightBitTony

EightBitTony Well-Known Member

RogerMac likes this.
  5. Ackertastic

Ackertastic Member

I'll check it out, think I need to enrol on a course!

Thanks Tony

6. RogerMac

RogerMac Well-Known Member

Unfortunately sports photography is one of the most difficult genres to get right both from the personal skill level and the facilities available in camera (particularly the focussing speed of the camera) and you may also have difficulty finding a suitable course. Perhaps the best bet is lots of practice and some advice from us in the appraisal lounge.

Last edited: Jun 7, 2017