1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

First attempt at landscape (or it is reservoirscape?)

Discussion in 'Appraisal Gallery' started by Andred, May 3, 2012.

1. Andred

Andred Well-Known Member

Hi folks,

My first attempt at something resembling a landscape, i'm using a canon 24-105mm lens, but on a 550d, so actually its 38mm I guess, im still learning the ropes, just invested in a set of ND grad cokin filters so tonight was my first bash at it, very different from what I am used to, but really enjoyed it, only wish I had left the house an hour earlier to play around a bit longer, but the 13 week old didnt allow it :-(

Its probably not the best scene, but it is somewhere I had been before with the intention of going back to try my luck.

All I have done is slightly cropped ( very slightly) and altered WB, original was too yellow'ry/orange for my personal liking.

[​IMG]

Regards,

Andy

2. daft_biker

daft_biker Action Man!

Keeping the same aspect ratio crop in from from the bottom right to get rid of the rocks? Very nice.....superb for a first attempt:cool:

3. Ednewbie

Ednewbie Well-Known Member

That's definitely a "wow" from me. Superb!

I'm not sure about the bottom right hand corner. Maybe clone out the rocks or crop it up a bit?

Ed

4. Chris Cool

Chris Cool Retired

Very calming Andy - well shot! :D

Great low file size as well!

5. lfc1892

lfc1892 Well-Known Member

looking on my phone, maybe a crop from the bottom, but you managed to get really good light and for a first attempt i think its very good.

6. Rob Barnett

Rob Barnett Well-Known Member

Lovely ! A great shot :D

7. RovingMike

RovingMike Crucifixion's a doddle...

Nice, but maybe a tad late. The total blocking of the hill on rhs is a bit heavy, creating imbalance in the scene. Stones are not ideal either and could do with a little more definition if they are to remain.