1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Film photography- still valid?

Discussion in 'Talking Pictures' started by roobarb, May 23, 2011.

1. roobarb

roobarb Well-Known Member

Pretty clear that i'm a noob to the forum, so yet again apologies for my potential naivete.

However, despite being a complete luddite ( I came to both AF technology and then digital technology dragging my feet through the mud) I'm wondering how relevant (beyond nostalgia) 35 mm film photography is given the high res currently available on even medium spec digital cameras. Similarly so with lens technology and electronics. I'd like to think there were good reasons to keep my eos5 and would never get rid of the OM10, but I can't really think of a situation where I would use them apart from nostalgia for film. The current specs of mid range digitals seem to have similar resolutions to medium format cameras I was drooling over but couldn't afford 15 years ago. So what do I do with my eos 5 and eos 30 35mm bodies? Are they just for the bin?

2. Zou

Zou Well-Known Member

For me 35mm is best represented with colour transparency but I find myself using it less and less. 120 rollfilm and 5x4 on the other hand I am using more of these days. 35mm is every bit as 'valid' if it meets your needs and allows you to achieve the results you want. If not, use something that does. There's no point in handicapping your potential.

3. P_Stoddart

P_Stoddart Well-Known Member

Simple answer , yes.

Photography is a artist creative medium. If the style or the way you are happy working is film. Then surely it is still valid for you.

Top reason I suspect people switch to digital is cost. You can shoot 100s of images with very very small cost.