1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

exposure & shutter speed

Discussion in 'Beginner's Corner' started by jclay, Jun 24, 2017.

1. jclay

jclay New Member

I’ve just inherited a Ricoh 35 ZP, my first analogue camera, and I’m pretty clueless about the exposure & shutter speed settings. Can anyone point me towards a beginner’s guide to selecting the best settings depending on the light conditions?

From what I have found out so far, it seems that I should select the shutter speed to match the film I buy (I’ve been recommended to buy ISO 400, so my shutter speed would be the next one up – 500). And then the exposure setting depends on the amount of light – 16 for a sunny day, going down to 5.6 for overcast/indoors. Does that sound about right??

Like I said, I’m very new to this, so I’d really appreciate any links you can give me, or any other general tips about analogue photography!!! J

2. PeteRob

PeteRob Well-Known Member

You need a meter. The exposure value refers to an amount of light determined by the aperture area and the exposure time. You can double the area and halve the time, or halve the area and double the time - all for the same exposure value. The exposure value giving a correct exposure depends on the film speed - so ISO 400 film needs 1/4 the exposure value than ISO 100. Each doubling is called a stop. Aperture (F value) is measured by the diameter so progresses (approx) in square root of 2 intervals. Aperture used affects depth-of-field (also a function of distance) while exposure time affects how movement is represented. In "normal" use it is chosen to eliminate camera shake effects and render (moving) subjects static.

jclay likes this.
  3. Petrochemist

Petrochemist Well-Known Member