1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Do I need this lens?

Discussion in 'Lens Matters' started by CameraCompanion, Aug 9, 2017.

1. CameraCompanion

CameraCompanion Well-Known Member

Hi all, I hope you're having a wonderful day wherever you are!

I am an amateur photographer and professional filmmaker with my own DSLR kit.
    I was wondering if I could have some help deciding what to do next with regards to my lenses.

I have a Canon 60D, an EF-S 10-18mm, a nifty fifty and an EF-S 55-250mm, I also occasionally use a vintage (MF) 28mm f2.8 with an adapter.

Recently, I have found myself feeling as though I am missing a certain focal length/style in my shots. I viewed a great little film shot on the new 80D with the 24mm Pancake lens, it has certainly caught my eye as a go-to prime lens for filmmaking but I wondered if the 80D was the bigger factor for the film's sharpness.

I have a big film project coming up soon and I would love to know what my fellow photographers and filmmakers think.

Do I keep working with my kit or look at switching or adding to my lenses?

Kind Regards,

CameraCompanion

2. PeteRob

PeteRob Well-Known Member

I don't know anything about filming. The 24 mm on a Canon crop-camera is about 38 mm focal length equivalent so a useful general purpose lens and a gap in what you have. In old money a 40 mm on a film camera approximates the human field of view.

3. CameraCompanion

Now that is a very interesting fact I did not know :) I was hoping the 24mm would be a good general purpose lens and being a prime, it's even more ideal for filming.
    Thanks Pete!

4. MJB

MJB Well-Known Member