1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Coffee Chemistry

Discussion in 'Appraisal Gallery' started by tijotjc, Dec 24, 2015.

1. tijotjc

tijotjc Well-Known Member

Camera: Nikon D5100
    Lens: Nikon AF-S Micro Nikkor 40mm f/2.8G Dx

[​IMG]

Let me know your valuable thoughts :)

2. luisport

luisport Well-Known Member

I see the shot much closer in.

3. twists n turns

twists n turns Well-Known Member

Tricky angle etc to master and make it work.
    Im no lighting expert either but it really aint great im afraid :( Is it on-camera flash yeah/phone camera? I dont think youl ever pull off a shot like this with ocf.

Anyhoo, the background and milk carton shadow is too distracting.
    The milk carton shouldn't even be in the shot imo. Some white milk pouring into shot is just dandy.
    ..We know what milk looks like ;)

Lift the carton higher so your not getting the carton in the shot and get more level with the mug. .. Something along these lines-ish..

[​IMG]

..and better lighting/sharper ofc.

Then when you get it shiny enough - The wee splashes of coffee on the mug have to go. Nitpicking you might think but would be especially unacceptable for this kinda shot if thats what your going for. (Lose the bubbles too lol.)

A top-down shot would be good for this setup but then even harder to light i imagine.

jmho+2p

Last edited: Dec 24, 2015
  4. MarcusT

MarcusT Well-Known Member

Have you thought about doing a long exposure on that?

5. RovingMike

RovingMike Crucifixion's a doddle...

The more usual way to do that is by getting the coffee circulating first and then pouring (cream usually), so it circulates. This is just making a bit of a visual mess. Also need to avoid those shadows. Table top photography requires very controlled lighting and a pro would probably take several hours lighting and testing this for an advertising shot.

6. miked

miked Well-Known Member