1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can you fix my video recorder?

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by EightBitTony, Sep 7, 2017.

1. EightBitTony

EightBitTony Well-Known Member

A few years ago, when I used to tell people I worked in IT, they'd eventually get around to asking if I could fix their video recorder or some other electrical / electronic device that I had no hope in hell of being able to fix.

However, that's not the point of this post.

Around 18 months ago, I was at a UK Comic Con - another failed attempt by me to go and take photographs of cosplayers. As I was walking around, with my Canon 7D2 and mounted-flash, a group of young women approached me. I guess they were students, one of them was Japanese. She had a Nikon, and it wasn't doing what she wanted.

She wanted to lock the ISO, but the camera was still acting like it was in Auto. I've read about this on Nikon's before (and some Canons), where the camera has a 'protection' mode if you've set a mixture of Aperture and Shutter speed which will still under expose, and set the ISO manually, it'll increase the ISO until it can expose the image properly.

I had a vague notion of how to change it on a Canon.

Anyway, she wanted me to show here how to fix it on her Nikon.

You know, because I had a stupidly big camera with me.

Anyway, I said I'd try, and asked if I could cycle through the menus myself, she seemed a big reluctant to give me her camera, so I handed mine to a friend of hers, which seemed to help.

So I turned the camera, and hit the menu button - at this point you're thinking, hah, it's a Nikon he's got no clue how to find the right menu setting.

That's partially correct - but I was more stumped by the fact that the menus were all in Japanese (Hiragana I think). I kind of looked at her lost, and she briefly looked sad as if I couldn't help before she realised I just couldn't actually read the menu.