1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can I shoot 1/50 shutter speed on my Nikon d7000

Discussion in 'Nikon Chat' started by Ross hannibal, Dec 15, 2018.

1. Ross hannibal

Ross hannibal New Member

So I’m shooting on M mode and I know I can reach 1/50 shutter speed. It seems like I can’t reach it. Closes I can get is 1/45 and 1/60 shutter speed but idk what I’m doing wrong. I’m shooting on M mode but idk how to find out how to shoot on 1/50

2. Ross hannibal

Ross hannibal New Member

I’ve seen videos where it reaches 1/50. Btw I’m new to photography

3. PeteRob

PeteRob Well-Known Member

Hi Ross, There are set values. Whole steps (called stops) are based on a series of powers of 2. So 1/500, 1/250, 1/125, 1/60, 1/30,1/15, 1/4, 1/2, 1, 2 .. etc. Cameras can usually be configured to give either half or one third stop intervals between these. So in shutter priority you can get 2 values between 1/60 and 1/30 if your camera is set up for 1/3 stops and one value between if set for half stops.

The lens units (F number) also goes, basically, in steps of 2 on the area of the aperture. To be awkward it is the diameter that is used, so the lens is marked approximately square root of 2 (1.414) steps (called stops) e.g F2, 2.8, 4, 5.6, 8, 11, 16, 22, 32. Again depending on how the camera is set up there may be one setting between (half stops) or two between (third stops).