1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Camera Clubs - Your thoughts?

Discussion in 'Talking Pictures' started by Pete Bony, Oct 9, 2019.

1. Pete Bony

Pete Bony Well-Known Member

We have several camera clubs in our area and I was wondering about joining one to help me improve on my photography in general. However I have heard several people say that camera clubs can be bit "clicky".
    Do any of you have much experience of Camera Clubs and if so what are your thoughts (As a generalisation) please?

Done_rundleCams likes this.
  2. MJB

MJB Well-Known Member

Go along and see for yourself. A lot depends on whether you're a club type of person or not.

Done_rundleCams and EightBitTony like this.
  3. Petrochemist

Petrochemist Well-Known Member

I've been helping run one for nearly 10 years.
    I've also heard potential issues about cliques, and that many are very much competition based, so that members are unwilling to share tips/techniques. Fortunately the one I picked is all about learning together. If anyone specializes in a field they are expected to give a presentation to the remainder...
    I sadly won't be putting together the kit to try & compete with Dave our underwater expert - I think his excess baggage bills are probably more than my holiday costs!

I freely admit there have been a few sessions which felt like a waste of time to me, but there have been many others that have really got my creative juices flowing, or enabled the use of shared kit I would never have looked at alone.

I suggest you arrange to visit the local clubs - most clubs have visitors rates so you won't have to pay for a whole 3 months to find it doesn't suit you. Sadly you're a bit far from our group...