1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Back again ...

Discussion in 'Pentax Chat' started by Pontoneer, Jan 29, 2018.

1. Pontoneer

Pontoneer Well-Known Member

It has been a while since I looked in here , but having finally got myself a K-1 exactly a week ago , thought I'd drop in to see what was happening .

After four years or so of using my K-3 , which I'm keeping , I expected the K-1 to be a straightforward transition - actually it's VERY different - besides a few new buttons and switches , things in different places and a whole new menu system - the operation of the camera is quite different , so this last week has been quite a learning curve .

My first challenge was finding the best lens to use on it . While I've been shooting Pentax since 1975 and have more than a few SMC-M series lenses , I don't have so many FF AF lenses . I fist dug out an old SMC-F series 28-80 macro lens which I thought might work quite well ( it did on my MZ-S ) but it was somehow disappointing - but maybe some of my other settings were off ... Then I tried a Sigma 28-135mm consumer grade lens - this one has produced some stunning photos on the K-1 , so I'm well pleased with it ; I also went out with a Sigma EX 15-30mm lens I've had for a while , and photographed a castle nearby , trying out the HDR and pixel shift modes on a sunny day - these turned out really well also ...

I have three Metz 54 MZ-4 flashes , with the correct SCA modules , which always worked well on my K-3 , and the *istD before that - but at first wouldn't play well with the K-1 . I tried dropping the sync speed down from 1/200 to 1/180 and the results were a bit more consistent - on the K-3 I always shot in X mode and selected aperture manually ; this at first didn't seem so great on the K-1 ( I had set the Metz from APSC to FF ) but then it seemed to start working .