1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Another newbie

Discussion in 'Introductions...' started by Dave B, Mar 29, 2013.

1. Dave B

Dave B Member

Hello, I'm Dave and I am retired and thoroughly enjoying that status!

I was a Senior R&D technician in an instrumentation company (liquid flow and chemical analysis) where I have to design and built all kinds of test & experimental rigs - really miss not having access to a machine shop these days! Despite that I like to tackle small technical problems, rigs etc., when they crop up.

I am a decidedly amateur photographer and not doing as much as I would like, heart & hip problems now limit my mobility a little, but I do do some work for the local archives and used to do some for the city archaeology dept until the sacked them all. Oh, I did work with high speed cine, 40,000 fps stuff, in a previous job - great fun but not relevant here.

I am happier with "technical" photography, never quite developed the eye for the artistic stuff. But I always carry a small camera, just in case!

Main kit is a Nikon D5100 with 18-55 & 55-200 lenses (usual bundle) but I also have a Sigma 18-250 for roving.

2. southonline

southonline Well-Known Member

welcome to AP

this retired status.....whats that:( ...something I think a lot of the workforce will never have the luxury off, this is assuming there is a workforce lol

enjoy the forum and cya around

3. Dave B

Dave B Member

I was one of the lucky ones, southonline! Baby boomer and got made redundant six months before I was going to take retirement at 60 anyway!

I do feel genuinely sorry for the kids these days, luckily I can afford to slip the son of my best (lady) friend a few quid now and again to keep his car on the road so he can keep his job. He is lucky to have one . . .

4. southonline

redundant 6mths before retirement lol....man someone was watching over you