1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Alternative Photographic opportunities please

Discussion in 'Help Team' started by fatandskint, Jul 22, 2019.

1. fatandskint

fatandskint New Member

Hi, I am a newbie to the forum, and still learning the ropes of how to use my camera and the techniques involved.

I have attended functions such as Air shows and the Edinburgh tattoo for example. But can anyone suggest other UK venues that would be entertaining for the rest of the family as well as being an alternative photo opportunity please ?

I live in Aylesbury, Buckinghamshire, so venues in the midlands or south are preferred please, though would travel for an interesting enough event

Much appreciated & thank you

Fatandskint
    Aylesbury

2. gray1720

gray1720 Well-Known Member

The classic car events at Bicester Heritage might be worth a look? I believe they are quite reasonably priced too, as they are more "all turn up and ogle each other's wheels" than a formal show.

On a smaller scale - how about steam ralies? I have no iodea what your family's tastes are, but there's one at Shabbington that I don't think is too far from you. Can't remember whether the Haddenham one is at the Bucks or the Cambs Haddenham...

Hope that help,

Adrian

3. AndyTake2

AndyTake2 Well-Known Member

Cotswold Wildlife Centre?
    Your family could wander round, go in with the lemurs etc. Not sure of the prices these days as I haven't been for a few years.

4. fatandskint

fatandskint New Member

Thanks Adrian

I assume you might be local to me then ?
    My uncle used to be involved in Steam rallies, he constructed a working model Fowler engine complete with plough and caravan and restored an original found in a deserted barn. He was one of the first to use rubber tyres covering the wheels -such a venue may well bring back some cheerful memories

5. gray1720