1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Adobe Photoshop rule change to hit photographers

Discussion in 'News - Discussion' started by CSBC, May 7, 2013.

1. CSBC

CSBC RIP (News Editor)

2. Bawbee

Bawbee Well-Known Member

Isn't this being discussed elsewhere in the forums? :p

MJ - No need for any PM ;)

3. Benchista

Benchista Which Tyler

If you actually read the news story, you would see that was actually part of the story, Bob. ;)

4. Roger_Provins

Roger_Provins Well-Known Member

I think they really meant "It will put money in our hands at a much faster pace". :)

5. RexK

RexK Well-Known Member

This move is really a killer for me!
    1. I live in Vanuatu and Adobe wont accept payments from here, despite the fact that I have a paypal account and my credit card is from an Australian bank.
    2. I am an amateur, this means that all my photo work is done on my home machine. I do not have an internet connection there. To get a connection with any near reasonable speed would cost me about GBP60 a month.
    3. If I cancel my subscription I can no longer use the software.

Cheers Rex
    P.S. I have posted this elsewhere and I make no apologies, I want his aired!

6. Kettering_Jeremy

Kettering_Jeremy Well-Known Member

It has been said:-

‘No more buying Photoshop and using it for several years, just because you don't need the latest widgets and gizmos - you either agree to 12-monthly licences or month-to-month licensing which is going to cost.'

When in fact there is a third way. Use a different program. There are quite a few rivals (Corel & Serif make photo editing software).

Microsoft are pulling Windows 8 because few have been buying it. The same will apply to Adobe. The Serif version I know from experience, and is very PS like, and even works with PS plugins.

7. IvorETower

IvorETower Little Buttercup

I do hope that this is true, and that Windows 7 will become the norm again.