1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

A quick question from a noobie

Discussion in 'Help Team' started by Jrothy, Mar 28, 2017.

1. Jrothy

Jrothy New Member

Hi guys absolute beginner here who just wanted to buy a decent camera for some nice travelling trips I have coming up.

I have recently purchased a 'Nikon D3300 DSLR Camera with AF-P 18-55mm VR Lens' after reading this is the best beginner DSLR camera.

My question is, does this lens this have zoom? Or did I need to purchase the same camera with f3.5-5.6 VR lens for a lens with zoom?

If this is the case, I'll need to get a refund and get the camera with the other lens I guess?

I keep reading different things! Thanks all in advance.

2. Roger_Provins

Roger_Provins Well-Known Member

You have bought a zoom lens, 18-55mm, :)

Have fun!

RogerMac and Jrothy like this.
  3. Craig20264

Craig20264 Well-Known Member

Yes this is a zoom lens. It has focal lengths of 18mm and 55mm, plus everything in between. Panic over. The f3.5-5.6 refers to the maximum aperture available at both ends of the zoom.

Jrothy likes this.
  4. Geren

Geren Well-Known Member

You already have a zoom lens. It will go from 18mm to 55mm focal length. The f/3.5-5.6 numbers on the other lens refer to the lens's max possible aperture settings at each end of that zoom range. Not the same thing at all.

Jrothy likes this.
  5. Jrothy

Jrothy New Member

Wow thanks guys! Great help. That's all I needed :D

6. Craig20264

Craig20264 Well-Known Member

Don't forget to come back and show us the pics:)

RogerMac and Geren like this.
  7. Benchista

Benchista Which Tyler

It's a zoom lens, but most non-photographers when asking about "zoom" are really asking about reach - if it's a long focus lens. And in that sense, no, it's not really.

8. Geren

Geren Well-Known Member