1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

A camera for close up still product shots? - Novice

Discussion in 'Help Team' started by David Glover, Jul 19, 2017.

1. David Glover

David Glover New Member

Hi there,
    I am a complete novice.
    I need to take pictures of products which I sell. All my products are smallish, i.e fit in the hand down to the size of your little finger nail.
    I have a small light box setup which I have simply been using my iphone in and it just isn't much good at getting sharp close up detailed pictures.
    I want a suitable camera (and or lens) that will give me decent results and won't break the bank. I don't intend to use the camera elsewhere or in other scenarios and it will be stationary on a tripod at roughly 20-30cm distance from lens tip to the subject. I do want them to be sharp and details though.
    Can you please recommend something. I have read about macro cameras like the d3300 but I think the recommendations for attachments and lenses I have seen seem TOO good, I don't need to catch a flea smiling. If you think of a pile of screws and how to get a good close up shot, that is probably what I am aiming for :)
    Thank you!

2. cliveva

cliveva Well-Known Member

most compacts with micro will do. At £500 a Panasonic LX100 would fit the bill, the nikon will need a micro lens, which will make it as expensive.

3. EightBitTony

EightBitTony Well-Known Member

I'd first ask why the iPhone shots aren't working - and which iPhone it is, because the iPhone is quite suited to close up style product shots. Do you have the phone secured or are you hand holding it?

4. David Glover

David Glover New Member

Hi guys, Thank you for the quick replies, it is an iphone SE which, I am using it secure and I tried delayed shutter so it wasn't being wobbled but the pictures looked a bit grainy and underexposed.